Day 11, 11/7/2015: Lake Rogen to Skedsbrostugan – 26km

The storm of yesterday had subsided by the time I woke up, and the day looked bright and sunny. After an early breakfast and a good look at the map I was off again by 8:00. Under the motto “keep calm and carry on” I picked up my bike shortly after leaving the camp site. No way this was rideable, at least not with a loaded fatbike.

After exiting Tandsjovalen and riding along lake Rogen there were some rideable sections. Parts of the trail were quite soggy and over the winter time boards had been dropped off along the track to construct new board walks. Construction hadn’t started yet when I passed through, but I could ride many of them and just hop from one to the next. This felt really good after all the carrying and I had a blast! Such a blast indeed that I hardly stopped for pictures.

Along the way I met some people who were carrying canoes while I was carrying my bike. We passed each other, and I think we both felt pity for the other, raveling the way we each did.

One of the rideable sections.

And one of the highlights of the day!

Fantastic trails!

There’s beauty in the small things too.

Up until then, some riding was possible, but the last 3km towaords Skedsbrostugan were heavy.

With lots of HAB-ing again.

But the views are leaving me speechless.

By 19:00 I reached the cabin of Skedsbrostugan where I took a bunk. I’d been on the trail for 11 hours and had traveled just 26km. This turned out to be one of the hardest sections of the whole trip. Around 25% of the track was rideable, so most of the day was spent carrying or pushing the bike. I think on bike without luggage a decent rider could probably stretch that to 35%, maybe 40%, but if you’re travelling and you don’t like carrying your bike, then better go elsewhere. Still, despite being worn out after a long day, dinner in the sun, next to a lake was great and I felt a sense of accomplishment of having traversed this area by bike.

The day’s route, in orange:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.